MY MEMORIES OF A FUTURE LIFE

 

BUY NOW at amazon.co.uk

 

Praise for other editions: 'Taut plotting and sharp storytelling'

'Absolutely gripping story'

'Classy, stylish writing, a profound tale in page-turning fashion. Unreservedly recommended.'

'A strange and stubborn book, visual and visceral, original and odd... will stay with you long after finishing its final pages' - For Books' Sake

My Memories of a Future Life was originally published in serial form throughout September 2011. This is the complete novel.

If you were somebody’s past life…

What echoes would you leave in their soul?
Could they be the answers you need now?

It’s a question Carol never expected to face. She’s a gifted musician who needs nothing more than her piano and certainly doesn’t believe she’s lived before. But forced by injury to stop playing, she fears her life may be over. Enter her soulmate Andreq: healer, liar, fraud and loyal friend. Is he her future incarnation or a psychological figment? And can his story help her discover how to live now?

A novel in the vein of The Time Traveller’s Wife, Vertigo and The Gargoyle, My Memories of a Future Life is much more than a 'who was I' tale. It’s a provocative study of the shadows we don’t know are driving our lives, from our own pasts and from the people with us right now. An examination of what we believe, what we create and how we scare and heal each other.

Above all, it’s the story of how one lost soul searches for where she now belongs.

'I was always fascinated by tales of regression to past lives,' says the author Roz Morris. ‘I thought, what if instead of going to the past, someone went to a future life? Who would do that? Why? What would they find?

‘I began to delve into the world of the classical musician. Musical scores are exacting and dictatorial - you play a note for perhaps a sixth of a second and not only that, there are instructions for how to feel - expressivo, amoroso.

'It's as if you don't play a piece of classical music; you channel the spirit of the composer. And I thought, what if she couldn’t do it any more? And then, what if I threw her together with someone who could trap the part of her that responded so completely to music?’

My Memories of a Future Life was originally published in 4 episodes. This is the complete novel.

Roz Morris is a writer, journalist, fiction editor and the author of Nail Your Novel: Why Writers Abandon Books and How You Can Draft, Fix and Finish With Confidence. She has a secret identity as a ghostwriter and is the author of several bestsellers under other names.

 

Go to Roz Morris author page

Click here to visit blog